It's About Time

Schedule of Events

Below is the schedule at a glance for the World Conference 2021, taking place 28-30 June. As an international association, please note that the times listed include:

The schedule is subject to change.

Schedule of Events

11:00 AM - 12:30 PM BST (29 June)
UTC-10:00 (London)

3:00 AM - 4:30 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
8:00 PM - 9:30 PM AEST (29 June) (Melbourne)

Gift of Communication (EMENA Audience)

FORMAT: Pre-Conference Session

Each year, the IABC Foundation holds a Gift of Communication event during the World Conference. During the Gift event, conference attendees will...
VIEW MORE
2:00 PM - 2:30 PM BST (29 June)
UTC-13:00 (London)

6:00 AM- 6:30 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
11:00 PM -11:30 PM AEST (29 June) (Melbourne)

Daily Opening Session

Sponsored by Simpplr    More information coming soon!
VIEW MORE
2:30 PM - 3:30 PM BST (29 June)
UTC- 13:30 (London)

6:30 AM - 7:30 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
11:30 PM - 12:30 AM AEST (29 June) (Melbourne)

Evaluate E-Communication

SESSION TRACK: Skills; Professional Development; Communication Strategy
SPEAKERS: Susan Walker, AES Research

Rachel Tolhurst, Head of Internal Communications Group Strategy, Amey plc
FORMAT: Interactive Workshop

Social media has become part of everyday life. An integral part of our organisational communication toolkit, it has new prominence today in our...
VIEW MORE
2:30 PM - 3:30 PM BST (29 June)
UTC- 13:30 (London)

6:30 AM - 7:30 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
11:30 PM - 12:30 AM AEST (29 June) (Melbourne)

From Measurement to Meaning - Listening Grows Up

SESSION TRACK: Internal Communications; Communication Strategy; Leadership
SPEAKERS: Mike Pounsford, Founder, Couravel

Howard Krais, Communications Manager, Johnson Matthey

Kevin Ruck, Co-founder, PR Academy
FORMAT: Interactive Workshop

This session will develop and explore the insights generated by the IABC Foundation sponsored Listening survey conducted during the pandemic which...
VIEW MORE
2:30 PM - 3:30 PM BST (29 June)
UTC- 13:30 (London)

6:30 AM - 7:30 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
11:30 PM - 12:30 AM AEST (29 June) (Melbourne)

Immersive Communication: The Third Dimension to Digital Employee Experience

SESSION TRACK: Internal Communications
SPEAKERS: Monique Zytnik, Senior Communication Advisor, Open Communication

Andreas Ringsted, Chief Digital Officer, Open Communication
FORMAT: Interactive Workshop

Dive right into our immersive experience to explore and see what is possible right now in the realm of employee communication. You’ll be...
VIEW MORE
2:30 PM - 3:30 PM BST (29 June)
UTC- 13:30 (London)

6:30 AM - 7:30 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
11:30 PM - 12:30 AM AEST (29 June) (Melbourne)

Time Will Tell

SESSION TRACK: Skills; Professional Development; Leadership
SPEAKERS: D Mark Schumann, Principal, Re-Communicate

Brad Whitworth, Senior Advisor, Smarp
FORMAT: Interactive Workshop

We fill our days fighting the realities of time. Let’s stop the clock, take time to reflect and recommit to what we contribute. During our...
VIEW MORE
2:30 PM- 2:50 PM BST (29 June)
UTC-13:30 (London)

6:30 AM- 6:50 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
11:30 PM- 11:50 PM AEST (29 June) (Melbourne)

Group Meditation

FORMAT: Group Activity

Take advantage of this opportunity to disconnect and reconnect. A pause to break from the daily stress, immerse in a unique calming space and...
VIEW MORE
2:50 PM- 3:20 PM BST (29 June)
UTC-13:50 (London)

6:50 AM- 7:20 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
11:50 PM- 12:20 AM AEST (29 June) (Melbourne)

Regional Meet Up (Americas, EMENA & Africa Audiences)

FORMAT: Networking Activity

Come together with peers in your region to discuss ongoing activities, ideas for the future, and how you can get involved! The following...
VIEW MORE
3:20 PM - 3:40 PM BST (29 June)
UTC- 14:20 (London)

7:20 AM - 7:40 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
12:20 AM - 12:40 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)
3:40 PM - 4:10 PM BST (29 June)
UTC- 14:40 (London)

7:40 AM - 8:10 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
12:40 AM - 1:10 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)

Telling Your DE&I Story: The Secret Ingredient for Success

SESSION TRACK: Skills; DE&I; Communication Strategy
SPEAKERS: Neil Griffiths, Global Head of Diversity, Equality & Inclusion, Environmental Resources Management
FORMAT: Breakout

There is no doubt that diversity, equ(al)ity and inclusion has been a huge part of the discourse in organizations around the world like never...
VIEW MORE
3:40 PM - 4:10 PM BST (29 June)
UTC- 14:40 (London)

7:40 AM - 8:10 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
12:40 AM - 1:10 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)

No More Town Hall Meetings and Other Evolutions in Leadership Communications

SESSION TRACK: Internal Communications; Communication Strategy; Leadership
SPEAKERS: Elizabeth Williams, Co-founder, The Academy of Business Communications

Andrew Brown, Co-founder, Academy of Business Communication
FORMAT: Breakout

Let's face it, most employee town hall meetings are pretty terrible. Even before the pandemic forced our leadership teams to find the mute...
VIEW MORE
3:40 PM - 4:10 PM BST (29 June)
UTC- 14:40 (London)

7:40 AM - 8:10 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
12:40 AM - 1:10 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)

Build a Freelance Mentality... Especially If You’re Employed!

SESSION TRACK: Culture; Skills; Professional Development
SPEAKERS: Tiffany Markman, Copywriter, Trainer & Speaker, Tiffany Markman Writing & Training
FORMAT: Interactive Workshop

Employees, it is time to act like CEOs! The world has changed. And to survive in it, we must learn from the lessons of the thriving gig economy...
VIEW MORE
3:40 PM - 4:10 PM BST (29 June)
UTC- 14:30 (London)

7:40 AM - 8:10 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
12:40 AM - 1:10 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)

Creating Communication That Inspires Positive Action

SESSION TRACK: Communication Strategy; Leadership; Crisis Communication
SPEAKERS: Patti Sanchez, Chief Strategy Officer, Duarte, Inc.
FORMAT: Interactive Workshop

According to research conducted by Duarte, Inc., during 2020, communication has grown more important since the COVID-19 pandemic began. Why? The...
VIEW MORE
4:10 PM - 4:40 PM BST (29 June)
UTC-15:10 (London)

8:10 AM - 8:40 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
1:10 AM - 1:40 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)

Exhibit Hall Break/Solution Provider Sessions

FORMAT: Exhibit Hall

Head to the virtual Exhibit Hall to engage with vendors. Don't forget to scan your badge!

VIEW MORE
4:40 PM - 5:40 PM BST (29 June)
UTC- 15:40 (London)

8:40 AM - 9:40 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
1:40 AM - 2:40 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)

It’s Time To Thrive, Not Survive: Communicate and Accelerate Your Organization’s Strategy To Win in 2021

SESSION TRACK: Internal Communications; Human Resources (HR); Communication Strategy
SPEAKERS: Gary Magenta, Chief Change Architect, Root Inc.
FORMAT: Interactive Workshop

It’s time to close the door on survival mode. 2020 put the world through the wringer and organizations were thrown into survival...
VIEW MORE
4:40 PM - 5:40 PM BST (29 June)
UTC- 15:40 (London)

8:40 AM - 9:40 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
1:40 AM - 2:40 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)

The Enlightened Workplace; Isn’t it About Time?

SESSION TRACK: Culture; DE&I; Leadership
SPEAKERS: Barbara Fagan-Smith, CEO and Founder, ROI Communication, ROI Communication

Kristin Brownstone, VP, Strategist, ROI Communication
FORMAT: Interactive Workshop

Employees today want to work for companies who have a positive impact on society, who value their employees and treat them with respect, and whose...
VIEW MORE
4:40 PM - 5:40 PM BST (29 June)
UTC- 15:40 (London)

8:40 AM - 9:40 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
1:40 AM - 2:40 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)

Time to End the Needless Damage Caused by a Mishandled Crisis: How Communicators Can Spot and Avoid the 10 Most Common Crisis Management Traps

SESSION TRACK: Professional Development; Leadership; Crisis Communication
SPEAKERS: Jonathan Hemus, Managing Director, Insignia Crisis and Reputation Management Limited
FORMAT: Interactive Workshop

COVID-19 has reinforced the criticality of getting communication right in a crisis, yet many organisations continue to make the same predictable...
VIEW MORE
4:40 PM - 5:40 PM BST (29 June)
UTC- 15:40 (London)

8:40 AM - 9:40 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
1:40 AM - 2:40 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)

[It's About Time We] Unleash the Power of Social Impact Communication

SESSION TRACK: External Comms; Culture; Communication Strrategy
SPEAKERS: Mari Lee, Founder and CEO, DevCom
FORMAT: Interactive Workshop

Today, no continent, no country and no communicator can ignore the impact of social issues - against the backdrop of challenges like disease...
VIEW MORE
5:40 PM - 5:50 PM BST (29 June)
UTC- 16:40 (London)

9:40 AM - 9:50 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
2:40 AM - 2:50 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)
5:50 PM - 6:20 PM BST (29 June)
UTC- 16:50 (London)

9:50 AM - 10:20 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
2:50 AM - 3:20 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)

Take Time to Tune Up Your Career and Conquer the Competition

SESSION TRACK: Skills; Professional Development; Career Trends
SPEAKERS: Edward Lundquist, Publisher and Editor in Chief, The Job of the Week

Mary Hills, Business Principal, HeimannHills Marketing Group
FORMAT: Interactive Workshop

No matter what your job is, or how satisfied you are in your position, you owe it to yourself to keep your fingers on the pulse of the...
VIEW MORE
5:50 PM - 6:20 PM BST (29 June)
UTC- 16:50 (London)

9:50 AM - 10:20 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
2:50 AM - 3:20 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)

It's About Time to Think Like a Marketer

SESSION TRACK: Internal Communications; Leadership
SPEAKERS: Brittany Barhite, Strategic Advisor, SocialChorus
FORMAT: Interactive Workshop

Time is running out .... change your communication ways before it is too late. Do you recognize these subject lines from marketing emails? Do your...
VIEW MORE
5:50 PM - 6:20 PM BST (29 June)
UTC- 16:50 (London)

9:50 AM - 10:20 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
2:50 AM - 3:20 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)

Create Compelling Presentations for Virtual Meetings Using PowerPoint

SESSION TRACK: Internal Communications; External Communications; Marketing
SPEAKERS: Richard Goring, Director, BrightCarbon
FORMAT: Digital Bootcamp

Remote meetings are here to stay, as is the Zoom fatigue that many experience. The importance of compelling content is becoming ever more...
VIEW MORE
5:50 PM - 6:20 PM BST (29 June)
UTC- 16:50 (London)

9:50 AM - 10:20 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
2:50 AM - 3:20 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)

Shaping and Influencing Culture in a Remote Work Environment

SESSION TRACK: Internal Communications; Culture; Leadership
SPEAKERS: Leslie Krohn, Chief Communications Officer/Director of Communications & Public Affairs, Argonne National Laboratory
FORMAT: Breakout

Working remotely is not a new concept, but now so many companies and organizations are making it a permanent work solution. While this is a...
VIEW MORE
6:20 PM-6:40 PM BST (29 June)
UTC-17:20 (London)

10:20 AM - 10:40 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
3:20 AM- 3:40 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)

Quiz Quest - Trivia Game

FORMAT: Group Activity

Join your peers in a fun, interactive game of trivia! Bring your mobile device to participate in a game with all of your IABC peers.

VIEW MORE
6:40 PM- 7:20 PM BST (29 June)
UTC-17:40 (London)

10:40 AM- 11:20 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
3:40 AM - 4:20 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)

Topic Driven Roundtables & Boardrooms

FORMAT: Networking Activity

Meet face to face with other attendees on industry topics by joining these Roundtables and Boardrooms within the Social27 platform. Roundtables...
VIEW MORE
7:20 PM- 7:50 PM BST (29 June)
UTC-18:20 (London)

11:20 AM - 11:50 AM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
4:20 AM - 4:50 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)

Exhibit Hall Break/Solution Provider Session

FORMAT: Exhibit Hall

Head to the virtual Exhibit Hall to engage with vendors. Don't forget to scan your badge!

VIEW MORE
8:00 PM- 9:30 PM BST (29 June)
UTC-19:00 (London)

12:00 PM- 1:30 PM PDT (29 June) (San Francisco)
5:00 AM - 6:30 AM AEST (30 June) (Melbourne)

Excellence Gala (Americas, EMENA & Africa Audiences)

FORMAT: Group Activity

Join us for an incredible Excellence Gala presentation as we honor IABC’s award winners, including the Chair's Award, Rae Hamlin Award,...
VIEW MORE